About Us

The Western North Carolina Region proudly serves 53% of the state’s population, providing services throughout the 47 counties of Alamance, Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Caswell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Graham, Guilford, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, Polk, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin and Yancey. Together, the five chapters serve more than 5 million people.

In 2015, the Western North Carolina Region:

  • Responded to 1,211 local disasters, helping 1,687 families displaced by home fires.
  • Collected more than 188,172 units of blood through blood drives and our donation centers.
  • 74,905 individuals learned lifesaving skills through classes and training in CPR, AED, first aid and aquatics.
  • Provided 10,626 military family case services with emergency messages, helping families find assistance and/or get counseling and referrals.
These Red Cross services are made possible by the generous contributions of our supporters, and more than 3,800 volunteers that help make a difference in the communities we serve.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s